If you have too many moving violations in one year, your license can be suspended for being a habitual violator of Texas traffic laws. If you were speeding 10% over the posted speed limit or committed any other moving violation you will be assessed two points for a conviction. If you caused a wreck as a result of the moving violation your points will increase to three points.
You should keep in mind that if you just pay off your moving violation ticket, you will be assessed points and you may incur more surcharges and increased insurance premiums. Points will remain on your driving record for a period of three years from conviction date.
If you accumulate six or more points on your driving record during a three-year period as a result of traffic tickets, the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) will assess a surcharge. This surcharge will be assessed annually. If you continue to to reflect six or more points during a three-year period, you will have to pay a $100.00 surcharge for the next 6 points and $25.00 for each additional point.
If you would like to learn more about fighting your traffic ticket and protecting your driving record from points and surcharges, we encourage you to our experienced traffic ticket attorneys at Berlof & Newton, P.C. immediately and request a free consultation with our legal team today. Call us now at (214) 827-2800.